Our Community


List of 2 items.

  • Board of Trustees

    Dalton has a Board of Trustees whose role is to set important policies for the school and oversee its operations. The Board meets monthly to discuss developments at the school and vote on policy decisions.
  • Dalton Council

    The Dalton Council is an advisory group of parents to the Board of Trustees and functions in a similar fashion to the Board Committees. The Chair of the Dalton Council is appointed by the President of the Board of Trustees. The council addresses topics of interest to the Board and reports to the Board the results and recommendations from the several studies conducted each year.


Alan Klein*
 Dasha Smith Dwin Ishaan Seth
Ellen Stein ’65*
Head of School
Cheryl Cohen Effron ’83*  Ramsey Smith
Roy Swan*
Vice President
Chad Gallant* J.P. Singh
 Deirdre Flynn*
Jennifer Glassman Ashley Smyth
Eric Lee*
Aly Sheezar Jeddy* Andrew Weinberg ’92 
Ronnie Abrams ’86  Olati Johnson Judy Eick
PA President
Timothy Barakett  Jonathan Korngold James Frischling '86
Alumni Representative
Mark Chan Eric J. Lee Sarah Kerman
Co-President Faculty Association
John Clark Daniel Lubetzky
Sonia Epelbaum
Student Council President
Jennie Tarr Coyne '97 Chandni Prasad
 Sara Solomon '18
Senior Class Representative
Andreas Dracopoulos*  Zach Schreiber Dominy Gallo
Junior Class Representative 
Theodore Schwartz '83  *Executive Committee Members


Ellen Stein ’65
 Head of School
B.A., U. of Pennsylvania
  M.B.A., Columbia University

James Best
 Head of School-Elect
B.A., U. of North Carolina
  M.A., Ed.D. Teachers College

Dr. Lisa Waller
 Assistant Head of School 
Progressive and Inclusive Practice
B.A., Oberlin College
  M.A., Duke University
  Ph.D., Duke University

Nora Elish
First Program Director
  B.A., Princeton University
  M.S.Ed., Bank Street College 

Tracy Fedonchik
Middle School Director
B.A., Fairfield University 
M.S.Ed., Bank Street College

Celeste Herrera
High School Director
University of North  B.A., Carolina--Chapel Hill
M.S. Ed. University of Pennsylvania

Michael Hwang

 Chief Financial Officer
  B.S., Boston College  
  M.B.A., Syracuse University

Emily Kasof

 Director of Development
  B.A., State University of NY
  M.A., Columbia University
Elisabeth (Babby) Krents ’68 
B.A., Harvard College
M.A., Teachers College
Ph.D., Columbia University

John Neiers

 Director of Technology
  B.A., U. of Notre Dame
  M.A., Teacher's College

Jim M. Zulakis

 Communication Director
B.A., Coe College